Book Review: Ember Queen by Laura Sebastian

Updated: May 2

Hello,


Today I'm bringing you another review, and this time for the conclusion to the Ash Princes trilogy, one of my all time favorite Young Adult Fantasy series from the last couple of years. If you haven't read the series, I'd recommend you check out Ash Princes (book 1), then Lady Smoke. (book 2). Unfortunately, I don't have individual reviews for those books, but I highly recommend the series.


I wouldn't recommend reading my personal review for those who aren't caught up with the previous books because some of the things I talk about are inevitable spoilers, however, you can skim to find some of my favorite quotes and the information for this book.


Anyways. continue reading to find out why I loved Ember Queen:



Description:


The thrilling conclusion to the series that began with the instant New York Times bestseller “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” (Bustle), Ember Queen is an epic fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people.


Princess Theodosia was a prisoner in her own country for a decade. Renamed the Ash Princess, she endured relentless abuse and ridicule from the Kaiser and his court. But though she wore a crown of ashes, there is fire in Theo’s blood. As the rightful heir to the Astrean crown, it runs in her veins. And if she learned nothing else from her mother, she learned that a Queen never cowers.


Now free, with a misfit army of rebels to back her, Theo must liberate her enslaved people and face a terrifying new enemy: the new Kaiserin. Imbued with a magic no one understands, the Kaiserin is determined to burn down anyone and everything in her way.


The Kaiserin’s strange power is growing stronger, and with Prinz Søren as her hostage, there is more at stake than ever. Theo must learn to embrace her own power if she has any hope of standing against the girl she once called her heart’s sister


Review:

The wait for Ember Queen felt endless.


I devoured this inevitable conclusion to the Ash Princes series because it has been close to my heart ever since I found the little sampler of Ash Princess at Barnes & Noble back in 2018.


Theo's journey, rising from the chains of oppression to be the queen her people needed her to be in order to take her country back, was absolutely satisfying for me. I loved how far the characters had come in this last book. Theo gaining confidence in her power and Cress being the ultimate villain.


There were a couple of things I didn't expect with respect to the stretch of Theo and Cress' connection, as well as Cress' machinations to achieve the rule of Astrea. Also, one of my favorite character dies (I won't say who) but they do in the most honorable way.


The limitations to each character's powers were clear and at times frustrating, but I guess it was something that got me closer their fights and struggles.


The little romance in the book was perfect for a fantasy novel. There is one sex scene that is not explicit but is referred to and mildly talked about. Søren and Theo's relationship flourishes in its own way despite their background.


I think everyone gets to pay a price for the ending. There is no easy redemption for the Kalovaxians but a path for justice is opened. Truly, the ending is hopeful, realistic and solemn to the journey it took to get there.

My rating:


Here is all the info for Ember Queen:


Reading Challenge No.: 11/45

Author: Laura Sebastian | Website | Instagram | Goodreads

Publication Date: March 21, 2020

Format: Print

Length: 462 pages

POV: #FirstPersonPOV - Theo

Genre: #Fantasy #YoungAdult

Series or Standalone? #Series - Ash Princess # 3

First Sentence:

"I spent most of my first six years afraid of my mother's throne the way most children are afraid of monsters lurking under their beds."

Favorite Character: This is really hard considering I love all the characters, but I think I appreciated the most Erik's presence in this book.


Add Ember Queen to your Goodreads, here.

Thank you so much for reading my review of Ember Queen. Recently, Laura Sebastian announced two new books for 2021. An adult "Arthurian retelling from the POV of Lady Shallot": Half Sick of Shadows. And a new YA series about "triplet princesses trained in espionage, raised to marry princes and conquer their countries": Castle in their Bones. I already added both to my TBR.


If you like my content, please consider signing up to my newsletter at the bottom of the page. You can also like my Facebook page, Two Arts in a World, for more content.


Stay home, stay safe.


Love, Lourdes


22 views

Follow me on Instagram @lou.m.art - Art

@lou.m.writes - Books & Writing

  • RSS Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
Live ◊ Love ◊ Create ◊ Inspire

© 2023 by Lourdes Montes. Proudly created with Wix.com